The governing body consists of a group of appointed volunteers who use their individual experience to work with the head teacher to ensure that pupils receive the best education possible whilst at the school. The governing board has three core functions:

  • Setting the strategic direction

  • Holding the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school

  • Ensuring financial health, probity and value for money

Governors meet regularly and the board is made up of members from four categories: staff, parents, community and local authority.

Governing Body Organisation

The core functions of the governing body are performed by the following groups, all of which meet once a term:

  • The Full Governing Body: Set, Implement and monitor the strategic direction of the school

  • The Teaching, Learning and Achievement Committee: To consider and direct all matters relating to pupils' education and well being

  • The Resources Committee: To consider and direct all matters relating to the agree budgets and resource needs to meet the requirements of the curriculum and maintain the fabric of the buildings and grounds.

Separate groups will be formed to deal with specific projects. these groups can include members of the community and others with relevant experience to help.

Governors are involved in specific monitoring activities linked to the School Improvement Plan and will visit the school termly to review progress in these areas. Visits could include talking to pupils and staff, reviewing pupils work and observing work in progress.

Governing Body

 Please click here for more details - Governors Profiles


Appointing Authority and Responsibility 

Toby Anscombe

 Parent, Chair of FGB

 Paula Etherington

 Local Authority, Vice Chair of FGB

 Julie Lorkins

 Head Teacher

 Peter Ford


 Tracey Norman

 Foundation (PCC), Chair TLA Committee


 Foundation (DBE) 

 Father Tom Warmington

 Foundation (PCC)

 Graham Mohr

 Foundation (PCC)

 Roger Lowry

 Foundation (PCC)

Celia Samson

 Foundation (PCC)

Natalie Kelberman 

 Foundation (DBE), Vice Chair of FGB

Kate Cant

 Foundation (DBE), Chair, Resources Committee

Natasha Scott

 Parent, Vice Chair of Resources Committee

Alan Dreeling


 Governors are appointed from different areas of the community.  Foundation Governors are Diocesan appointments or PCC governors appointed by St Andrews Church PCC, Local Authority Governors are appointed by Essex County Council and Parent Governors by the parents of children attending St Andrew's School.

Click here for Governor Attendance at meetings in 2017/2018 

Further Information


How can I contact the Governing Body?

Please contact  the School Office by email or telephone 01992522283 or use the links above.